On Being Single

On Being Single

I have this friend, Maru, and he recently wrote a blog post about love, or lack thereof, and he actually inspired me to do this little post reflecting his, and I thought it was a really good idea since February is just around the corner! And I’m not gonna lie: being single is absolutely fabulous, but there’s something about having someone that makes you resolutely happy. 

So for all TSwizzle fans out there, this is for you! I am about to dedicate Swift songs to past love (or lovers). Ready? Set? GO!

1. Cold As You

You put up walls and paint them all a shade of gray
And I stood there lovin’ you and washed them all away
And you come away with a great little story
Of a mess of a dreamer with the nerve to adore you

And now that I’m sittin’ here thinkin’ it through
I’ve never been anywhere cold as you.

2. White Horse

I had so many dreams
About you and me
Happy endings
Now I know that I’m not a princess,
this ain’t a fairy tale,
I’m not the one you’ll sweep off her feet.

3. If This Was A Movie

I was playing back a thousand memories, baby
Thinkin’ ‘bout everythin’ we’ve been through
Maybe I’ve been goin’ back too much lately
When time stood still and I had you

Come back, come back, come back to me like
You would, you would if this was a movie
Stand in the rain outside
‘Til I came out

Come back, come back, come back to me like
You could, you could if you just said you’re sorry
I know that we could work it out somehow
But if this was a movie you’d be here by now

4. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

So he calls me up and he’s like, “I still love you,”
And I’m like… “I just… I mean this is exhausting, you know, like,
We are never getting back together. Like, ever”

And for every single girl out there, we do not need a guy to be happy. Enjoy your being single and I tell you, there’s nothing better than having your hair tied up in a messy bun, no makeup, sweatpants, a chic flick (or a chic lit if you’re that kind of girl) and the two best men on your life: Ben & Jerry. This song is for you:

6. 22

It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters
And make fun of our exes.
It feels like a perfect night for breakfast at midnight
To fall in love with strangers.

We’re happy, free, confused, and lonely at the same time
It’s miserable and magical.
Oh, yeah
Tonight’s the night when we forget about the deadlines
It’s time

I don’t know about you
But I’m feeling 22
Everything will be alright
If you keep me next to you
You don’t know about me
But I’ll bet you want to
Everything will be alright
If we just keep dancing like we’re
22.

Leave a Reply

