People-watching

People-watching

Most people say it’s rude to stare, but sometimes I can’t help it. Wherever I go, I watch people from head to toe, their facial expressions, what they’re doing, what they’re saying, and what I think they’re thinking. I try to read him/her, and wonder how life is for them. 

It is especially interesting when I’m on a train early in the morning and I watch women try to catch up with the closing doors. I watch how they intently put eyeliner and mascara inside a moving train and wonder how they were able to do so. I watch them talk to someone on the phone, their boyfriend or husband maybe. Sometimes she looks worried, and sometimes she looks giddy as if excited to see him.

I watch couples, too, admiring them admire each other. Some men simply put their hand on the women’s hip as if to say ‘she’s mine’. Some of them gaze into each others eyes, full of love and happiness. Somehow it stings that someone doesn’t feel that way towards myself.

I watch every boy that catches my eye and hope he notices me, too. Is he too young? Too rich? Too smart? Or plainly, out of my league? I guess so, ‘cause he doesn’t look back. 

Everyday I watch someone new, and I watch them get on with their lives. Sometimes I wonder, why don’t I move on with mine? 

Leave a Reply

