Right minus wrong

Right minus wrong

I wake up, which is odd because I barely slept, psyched for the next few hours ahead. I took a bath and wore the shirt I’m most comfortable in, and my red ballerina flats with gold lining. I ate a big breakfast and stopped by the church along the way to pray. I prayed long and hard for wisdom and guidance, and a little piece of luck, because it’s going to be one of the most important days in my life. 

August 8, 2010.

It was the day of my UPCAT, and I’m nervous as hell. I calmly made my way to the end of the line in Diliman’s Law Center, and slowly our line proceeded to a huge room with chairs neatly lined up, proctors on guard. I took my seat near the door along an aisle; I see my friend Pat when I turned to look around. A few moments later it finally started, and there’s no looking back.

The room was cold so I brought out my trusty hoodie, ate a pack of KitKat, and went to the rest room for a quick break. I’ve skipped a few items and the others I’ve guessed, but after three hours of torture I walk out in the rain unsure of myself. 

Half a year later the results were out. I just got home from a short vacation with my family to the beach. As soon as we settled down I immediately checked the results online. 

Disappointment came across my face as I run through the list wherein my name couldn’t be found. I face my parents with tears running down my cheeks. I am extremely mad and disappointed with myself. Worst of all, I’ve disappointed my family and the faith that they strongly believed in. 

I gave it all up. And now, a couple of years later, here I am, a proud Iskolar. I didn’t give up and I never will, for I will never look back to that moment of disappointment, but rather see the years ahead. 

Good luck to all of the seniors who are taking the UPCAT this weekend! God bless you, and may the odds be ever in your favor. 

Leave a Reply

