The Year of the Water Dragon

The Year of the Water Dragon

Today was the birthday celebration of my blockmate and friend, Matt. He’s Filipino-Chinese, and thus lives in Binondo, Manila. So that’s where he treated us for dinner later today. While walking through the busy streets of Ongpin, I saw how different the Chinese culture is from ours, but I also saw how similar these cultures can be. There were beautiful people filling the streets, and architecture a little different from what we’re used to. 

It was even more beautiful in the night, when all the lights in Chinatown were lit up. You can see how busy the little town is, even after the sun went down.

We ate at this restaurant called the Golden Fortune, and let me tell you, the food was delicious! My first time to try the Corn Siomai and Radish Cakes were truly a unique experience. We were also able to watch a dragon dance performance just outside the restaurant.  We even got to witness the Dragon Parade (that’s what I think it’s called). 

As they welcome the Chinese New Year, you could see how they try to protect their culture and honor. 

Have a prosperous Chinese New Year everyone! 

P.S: Sorry for the lack of pictures. I didn’t bring my camera since I knew we were commuting. I swear you should’ve seen it. I regret not taking pictures. But hey, safety first, right? 

Leave a Reply

